Thursday, 21 June 2012 09:59

Stockholm, Royal College of Music / Kungliga Musikhögskolan (25/III/P, 1995)

Torvald Torén: Robert Schumann - "Sechs Fugen über den Namen B.A.C.H." opus 60, no 4:
Torvald Torén: Robert Schumann - "Sechs Studien für den Pedalflügel" opus 56, no 4:
Torvald Torén: Robert Schumann - "Sechs Studien für den Pedalflügel" opus 56, no 5:

After a large gift by the Swedish state to renew their organs, the Kungliche Musikhögskolan decided to build four new organs: three small study organs and one larger 3-manual organ. After consulting several international organ builders the contract was awarded to Van den Heuvel. Organ consultant was Torvald Torén.

The new organ is designed as an all-round instrument with symphonic influences, the stop list and esthetica has a connection with the large salon organs of Cavaillé-Coll and Mutin. The new organ for the Kungliche Musikhögskolan in Stockholm was built in 1995 and possess 25 stops. Both the stop action and the key action are mechanical. However the stop action is equiped with electrical slider motors and an electronic memory system to allow the storage of combinations.


In January 2013 Van den Heuvel dismantled and packed the 25 stop organ (built by Van den Heuvel in 1995) at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm. The current buildings are demolished next month. Afterwards new education rooms and a concert hall are build, all should be ready in approximately two years. Afterwards we will re-install the instrument.



New Building

In May and June 2016 the Van den Heuvel assembling team installed the organ in the magnificent new concert hall. This multi-purpose hall features an organ, choral and orchestral stage. The acoustics in the hall are adjustable to specific desired and musical performances.


Additional Info

  • Location: Stockholm (S)
  • Inauguration: Thursday, 01 January 1970
  • Activity: Nieuwbouw
  • Stoplist:

    Pédale, C-g1
    Soubasse 16'
    Flûte 8'
    Flûte 4'
    Basson 16'

    Grand-Orgue (I), C-c4
    Borduna 16'
    Principal 8'
    Tvärflöjt 8'
    Oktava 4'
    Oktava 2'
    Mixtur III-V

    Positif Expressif (II), C-c4
    Gedackt 8'
    Flöjt 4'
    Nasard 2 2/3'
    Flageolet 2'
    Ters 1 3/5'
    Vox Humana 8'

    Récit Expressif (III), C-c4

    Flûte à Cheminée 8'
    Gambe 8'
    Voix Céleste 8'
    Flûte Octaviante 4'
    Octavin 2'
    Piccolo 1'
    Trompette 8'
    Basson-Hautbois 8'
    Clairon 4'

    Positif Expressif/Pédale
    Récit Expressif/Pédale
    Positif Expressif/Grand-Orgue
    Récit Expressif/Grand-Orgue
    Récit Expressif/Grand-Orgue 16'
    Récit Expressif/Positif Expressif
    Récit Expressif/Positif Expressif 16'
    Récit Expressif 16'

    Mechanical keyaction, electronic stop action with memory system (256 combinations).
    Mechanical couplers except manual couplers to Récit Expressif.

Read 10413 times Last modified on Sunday, 12 June 2016 20:12

Related items

Search instruments