Thursday, 21 June 2012 10:00

Rotterdam, Dutch Reformed Maranathakerk (25/III/P, 1998)

Gottfried Fallenegger: Louis Vierne - Divertissiment:

The organ was commissioned in 1993 by the Concordian Theological College & Seminary (Graduate School of Church Music) in Taipei, Taiwan. The building started in 1995 and was completed in 1996. Already in 1995 the customer had difficulties to make payments for installments in time, as agreed in the contract. On August 18th 1996 the contract was cancelled by law and the builder tried to find another customer for the organ since the Taiwanese customer did not have the financial possibilities to pay for the organ.

In 1998 a new home for the instrument was found in the Maranatha Church in Rotterdam. In the meanwhile the organ had not left the builders assembly hall! The organ has 3 manuals of 61 notes and a pedal of 32 notes, controling 25 stops. The Grand-Orgue has 6 stops, the Positif also 6 stops, the Récit 9 stops and the Pédale 4 stops. Each manual division has one windchest, the Pédale has four windchests including two offset chests.

The organ is an all-round instrument with symphonic influences, stop list and esthetica has a connection with the large salon organs of Cavaillé-Coll and Mutin. The 'twin brother' of this organ was built in 1995 and is placed in the Kungliche Musikhögskolan in Stockholm.The only difference is the material for the organ case and the shape of some towers. Also the pedal board is different: this pedal is built to AGO standard.

The case is made of mahogany. A transparant finish is used to show the wood structure of the case.

The key action is mechanical and the stop action is electric wich gave the possibility to add a combination action system to the organ with a total of 480 general combinations. Additionally, the organ's capability is futher enlarged by various cancellers, adjustable Tutti and "up/down" sequencing pistons.

The naturals of the of the balanced keyboards recieved an overlay of bone and the sharps are made from ebony. The stopknobs are made of coromandel wood and porcelain designation plates onto which the inscription is glazed. The cheeks are made from rosewood. The pedal board is made of oak (AGO standard).

Herman van Vliet performed the inaugural concert.

Additional Info

  • Location: Rotterdam
  • Inauguration: Wednesday, 07 October 1998
  • Stoplist:

    Grand-Orgue (I), C-c4
    Bourdon 16'
    Montre 8'
    Flûte Harmonque 8'
    Prestant 4'
    Doublette 2'
    Mixture III-V
    Positif Expressif (II), C-c4
    Bourdon 8'
    Flûte Douce 4'
    Nasard 2 2/3'
    Flageolet 2'
    Tierce 1 3/5'
    Cromorne 8'

    Récit Expressif (III), C-c4
    Flûte à Cheminée 8'
    Gambe 8'
    Voix Céleste 8'
    Flûte Octaviante 4'
    Octavin 2'
    Piccolo 1'
    Trompette 8'
    Basson-Hautbois 8'
    Clairon 4'
    Pédale, C-g1
    Soubasse 16'
    Flûte 8'
    Flûte 4'
    Basson 16'
    Positif Expressif/Grand-Orgue
    Récit Expressif/Grand-Orgue 8'
    Récit Expressif/Grand-Orgue 16'
    Récit Expressif/Positif Expressif
    Positif Expressif/Pédale
    Récit Expressif/Pédale

    Expression Positif
    Expression Récit

    Mechanical key action with elektrical couplers for the Récit, electric stop action with combination system.

Read 9705 times Last modified on Wednesday, 28 November 2012 08:57

Search instruments