Thursday, 21 June 2012 09:58

Yerseke, Netherlands Reformed Congregation (42/III/P, 1984)

Ben van Oosten - Improvisation Psalm 150:

The church of the Netherlands Reformed Congregation was built in the sixties of last Century. Around 1980 this organ had had it's best times and the decision was made to build a new organ. At the time the organ contract was awarded to Van den Heuvel there were serious proposals to build a complete new church in a traditional architecture. Due to this Van den Heuvel was asked to present a traditional organ case design including wood carvings. In the early eighties however it was decided to enlarge the present building to give place to approximately 1.500 people. Unfortunately the accoustic conditions are not good since......but since 2012 there are proposals worked out to build a complete new church with a seat capacity of approximately 1.800.....

The Van den Heuvel organ in Yerseke has three manual divisions of 56 notes and a pedal of 30 notes. The Rugpositief has 9 stops, the Hoofdwerk 14 stops, the Zwelwerk 11 stops and the Pedaal 8 stops, altogether 42 stops. No stops of the old organ were used. The inauguration took place on July 12th 1984 by Klaas Jan  Mulder.

Some pictures of the final assembly in the church:








The internal layout of the instrument is almost clear when you have a look at the front picture. The Rugpositief (Choir) is situated in the small case on the gallery, the Hoofdwerk (Great) in the center, behind the Hoofdwerk is the Zwelwerk (Swell) situated and on each side of the Hoofdwerk the Pedaal (pedal). The console and all the action is made in Classical Dutch style. Almost all the wood work (pipes and organ cases) is made in magahony. The wood carvings are fashioned from Frenchlinden wood. The mouth of the display pipes are gold plated. The sound combines elements of both Dutch and French styles. This instrument is only used for accompanying the singing of great congregations as is typical in this well knowb fishermen village in the south of Holland.


Additional Info

  • Location: Yerseke
  • Inauguration: Thursday, 12 July 1984
  • Activity: Nieuwbouw
  • Stoplist:
    Pedaal, C-f1
    Contrabas 16'
    Subbas 16'
    Octaafbas 8'
    Roequint 5 1/3'
    Octaaf 4'
    Bazuin 16'
    Trompet 8'
    Klaroen 4'

    Rugpositief (I), C-g3
    Prestant 8'
    Holpijp 8
    Octaaf 4'
    Roerfluit 4'
    Gemshoorn 2'
    Quintfluit 1 1/3'
    Sesquialter I-II 2 2/3'
    Mixtuur III-V 1'
    Dulciaan 8'

    Hoofdwerk (II), C-g3
    Prestant 16'
    Bourdon 16'
    Prestant 8'
    Dwarsfluit 8'
    Roerfluit 8'
    Octaaf 4'
    Blokfluit 4'
    Quint 2 2/3'
    Octaaf 2'
    Mixtuur IV-VI 2'
    Cornet disc. V
    Trompet 16'
    Trompet 8'
    Klaroen 4'

    Zwelwerk (III), C-g3
    Viola di Gamba 8'
    Holfluit 8'
    Voix Céleste 8'
    Fluit 4'
    Nasard 2 2/3'
    Woudfluit 2'
    Carillon I-III
    Fagot 16'
    Hautbois 8'
    Vox Humana 8'
    Schalmey 4'

    Swell box for Zwelwerk
    Mechanical key and stop action

Read 8942 times Last modified on Wednesday, 28 November 2012 10:44

Related items

Search instruments